Organization Host

Innovate Mississippi

Contact Information

Tony Jeff
(601) 960-3610


Organization Host

UTSA SBDC Technology Commercialization Center, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Contact Information

Bijo Mathew
Executive Director
(210) 458-2450


Organization Host

Oklahoma Catalyst Programs

Contact Information

Sarah Hamby
(405) 325-7804


Organization Host

LA Tech Transfer Office

Contact Information

Vic Johnson
(985) 302-6119


Organization Host

Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center – University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Contact Information

Rebecca Todd
Innovation Specialist
(501) 831-2584 mobile

9:00 AM - 9:15 AM

Introduction, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)

Brittany Sickler, Senior Innovation Policy Advisor, Office of Investment and Innovation (OII), SBA

9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

Getting Started with SBIR/STTR

Moderator: Jennifer Shieh,  Chief Scientist and Program Manager, OII, SBA

Gynelle Steele, Deputy Program Executive for SBIR and STTR Programs, NASA

Christopher O’Gwin, Outreach and Assistance Program Manager, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)

Nicole Fox, SBIR/STTR Program Coordinator, U.S. Army

10:15 AM - 11:00 AM

Inside the Head of an Evaluator: Common Mistakes

Moderator: Elden Hawkes, Partnership and Innovation Specialist – SBIR/STTR, OII, SBA

Rachael Sack, Division Chief, U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT)

Henry Ahn, SBIR/STTR Program Director, National Science Foundation (NSF)

Christopher O’Gwin, Outreach and Assistance Program Manager, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)

11:15 AM - 12:00 PM

Success in Phase I - Moving to Phase II and Beyond

Moderator: Erick Page-Littleford, Senior Technology Policy Advisor, OII, SBA

Christina “Tina” Barnhill, Acting SBIR/STTR Operations Manager, Missile Defense Agency (MDA)

Ben Schrag, Senior Program Director for SBIR/STTR, National Science Foundation (NSF)

Dusty Lang, SBIR Management and Program Analyst, U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

11:15 AM - 12:00 PM

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

Franco Salvoza, USPTO – Texas Regional Office

Hector Leal, USPTO – Texas Regional Office

11:15 AM - 12:00 PM

Federal Laboratory Consortium (FLC)

David Kistin, Program Leader, Small Business Vouchers Pilot at Sandia National Laboratories

Questions? Contact us!